2017 CleanMed Awards & Scholarships

Environmental Health Hero Award

Presented annually, the Environmental Health Hero Award recognizes an individual whose professional accomplishments have significantly contributed to advances in environmental health science or policy. The award is given to someone whose achievements have both deepened our understanding of the critical links between health and the environment; and have catalyzed tangible policy or research reforms that protect human health and the environment.

2017 Recipient

Charlotte Brody/Nurse Luminary Award

In 2006, the Charlotte Brody Award was created by Health Care Without Harm in honor of a lifelong advocate for social change, a registered nurse and activist who has spent her life making the world a safer place for people around the world. This award seeks to recognize nurses who go beyond everyday nursing endeavors to proactively promote and protect environmental health, and who generate significant outcomes from their efforts. Potential awardees are nominated by a colleague or member of the public, or may be self-nominated.

2017 Recipient

Stephanie Davis Waste Reduction and Pollution Prevention Award and Scholarship 

Each year, a committee of reviewers from Health Care Without Harm and Practice Greenhealth select three or four recipients of the Stephanie Davis Waste Reduction and Pollution Prevention Award and Scholarship. Scholarship award winners receive a full CleanMed conference-fee waiver, accommodations for three nights at the conference hotel, and a $400 stipend for transportation to and from the conference. The Award and Scholarship represent an enduring tribute to Stephanie C. Davis, who worked with Health Care Without Harm at its inception in 1996 and who was a great and tireless champion of the movement to ‘green’ health care by reducing waste and eliminating the use of harmful chemicals and materials in health care products and processes. Stephanie’s colleagues, friends and family established this Award and Scholarship for CleanMed to recognize and support those in health care organizations who, as Stephanie did, struggle every day to make health care more sustainable.

 2017 Recipients